Government’s Net Zero Transport Board gains additional members

Further appointments have been made to the Government’s Net Zero Transport Board (NZTB) following its launch with an initial 15 members on 8 July by Transport Secretary Grant Shapps.

It now has 20 members – the maximum permitted under its terms of reference, and two chairs.

The Net Zero Transport Board (NTZB) is an external advisory board. It provides independent, objective and impartial advice on transport decarbonisation to the Department for Transport (DFT).

The NZTB brings together leaders from a range of fields such as behavioural change and policy, as well as experts from several prominent industry sectors, including:

  • the environment
  • science
  • technology
  • different modes of transport

The objectives of the board are to:

  • provide advice during the development of the transport decarbonisation plan
  • provide more general advice on reducing greenhouse gas emissions from transport, particularly thinking about the longer-term technological and behavioural changes needed to deliver transport’s contribution to net-zero
  • provide constructive feedback on, and identify risks and opportunities across, the department’s work to decarbonise transport
  • reinforce the link between government, industry, academia and the wider public
  • Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP – Secretary of State for Transport
  • Rachel Maclean MP – Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Transport
  • Polly Billington, UK100, Director
  • Xavier Brice, Sustrans, Chief Executive
  • Leon Daniels OBE, Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport, Vice-President
  • Peter Harris, UPS, International Sustainability Director
  • Richard Howard, Aurora Energy Research, Research Director
  • Professor Stephen Joseph OBE, University of Hertfordshire’s Smart Mobility Unit, Visiting Professor
  • Dr Michaela Kendall, Adelan, Chief Executive Officer
  • Professor Lord Robert Mair CBE, FICE, FRS, FREng, University of Cambridge, Former Head of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Chair of the DfT Science Advisory Council
  • Carly McLachlan, Tyndall Centre, Director
  • Ian Meikle, Innovate UK, Director, Clean Growth and Infrastructure
  • Peter Mock, International Council on Clean Transportation, EU Managing Director
  • Luisa Moisio, Rail Safety & Standards Board, R&D Programme Director
  • Adam Morton, Sustainable Aviation, Chair
  • Leo Murray, Possible, Co-Founder
  • Katharine Palmer, Lloyd’s Register, Global Head of Sustainability
  • Natasha Patel, Baringa Partners, Director
  • Konstanze Scharring, the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders, Director of Policy
  • Anthony Smith, Transport Focus, Chief Executive
  • Jools Townsend, Community Rail Network, Chief Executive
  • Professor Lorraine Whitmarsh, UK Centre for Climate Change & Social Transformations, Director

You will receive our regular news digest – typically weekly. We are serious about GDPR and we promise to take care of your data and will never sell it or pass it on.

Your Privacy

We and our partners use technologies, such as cookies, and process personal data, such as IP addresses and cookie identifiers, to personalise ads and content based on your interests, measure the performance of ads and content, and derive insights about the audiences who saw ads and content. Click below to consent to the use of this technology and the processing of your personal data for these purposes. View our privacy policy.