HSC announces new council members and launches Future Leaders Group

The Highways Sector Council has announced nine new appointments to broaden its representation of the industry and to transform delivery in the highways sector, using a unified voice and approach so the industry can work in greater partnership with central and local government.

The new appointments are:

  • Nick Jones, Sky Blue
  • Tim Cockayne, Chevron T raffic Management Group
  • Ann Carruthers, Leicestershire County Council
  • Steve Gooding, RAC Foundation and the new President of CILT
  • John Lamb, Braintree District Council
  • Steve Birdsall, Gaist Solutions Limited
  • Steve Hill, McLaren Applied
  • Howard Cooke, Asphalt Group Ltd and
  • Karla Jakeman, Innovate UK

HSC Chair Leon Daniels OBE says: “The Council has already made a big difference in helping the sector during the COVID-19 pandemic as well as discussing with Department of Transport how huge strides the sector can make together.

“Following a long process, I am delighted that we can appoint these talented and amazing people as full members of the Highways Sector Council.”

The HSC has also announced a newly formed Future Leaders Group which will be chaired by existing Council member Anna Delvecchio of Mott MacDonald.

The HSC is committed to promoting, attracting and supporting a diverse and inclusive sector.

The new Group will play a key role in ensuring the highways sector attracts skilled candidates from all backgrounds and retains its existing talent.

“We have established a Future Leaders Group who will take a lead role in delivering ‘making highways a career of choice’. This is an incredibly important piece of work that will shape the future of the sector and we believe is best delivered by our future leaders,” Leon added.

“It is vital that we invest in our future and by bringing talented young people into close contact with industry leaders and Government we can establish a strong talent pool.”

The HSC will be soon announcing further appointments of a number of other important highways sector leaders to new roles to further support the work of the Council.

About the Highways Sector Council

The Highways Sector Council (HSC) is a partnership of private and public sector organisations. Partners include the UK’s leading highways contractors, local authority bodies and national agencies. The Council has been created to help transform delivery in the highways sector, using a unified voice and approach so the industry can work in greater partnership with central and local government. It aims to drive innovation across the sector to deliver economic, environmental and social benefits for business, communities and all road users. Its work has been focused on developing a collaborative approach to transform and improve how the sector works across a number of key areas: people and skills, innovation, safety, environment, value, investment and delivery models.

Founding Members / Supporters

Private sector members include: AECOM, Amey, Atkins, Balfour Beatty, Costain, FM Conway, Eurovia Ringway, Jacobs, Kier, Leon Daniels and Associates Ltd, Mott MacDonald and Tarmac.

Public sector members include: Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning & Transport (ADEPT), Chartered Institute of Logistics & Transport (CILT), Chartered Institution of Highways & Transportation (CIHT), England’s Economic Heartland.

Supporter members include: Highways UK, Local Government Association.

You will receive our regular news digest – typically weekly. We are serious about GDPR and we promise to take care of your data and will never sell it or pass it on.

Your Privacy

We and our partners use technologies, such as cookies, and process personal data, such as IP addresses and cookie identifiers, to personalise ads and content based on your interests, measure the performance of ads and content, and derive insights about the audiences who saw ads and content. Click below to consent to the use of this technology and the processing of your personal data for these purposes. View our privacy policy.