MPs to probe National Bus Strategy for England

The Transport Select Committee is holding a one-off session tomorrow (21 April) at 0930, where MPs will question organisations representing bus operators and  local councils, followed by Buses Minister, Baroness Vere of Norbiton.

MPs want to learn how the strategy will be delivered and whether it’s a credible response to the challenges presented by covid-19, climate change and the need to level up across England. 

The session will be televised live on UK Parliament Live here

The Committee welcomed the announcement of the Government’s National Bus Strategy for England which promises simpler fares, new buses, improved routes and higher frequencies of services. The Committee previously called for a national strategy in its 2019 inquiry on the Health of the Bus Market outside London.

Likely topics for discussion include:

  • how the Government plans to improve bus services over this Parliament, including how it plans to spend the £3billion it has allocated to transform bus services over this period. 
  • whether the National Bus Strategy is a credible response to the challenges facing the bus industry and the country, both now and in the future, including Covid-19, climate change and the need to level-up the country.
  • how this strategy will be delivered on the ground, especially within local transport authorities.

The focus of this session is on the provision of bus services outside London, as responsibility for buses in London is devolved.

Witnesses from 09.30:

  • Graham Vidler, Chief Executive, Confederation of Passenger Transport
  • John Carr, Board Member, Association of Transport Co-ordinating Officers
  • Mark Kemp, Director of Environment and Infrastructure, Hertfordshire County Council

At 10.15: 

  • Baroness Vere of Norbiton, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Transport
  • Stephen Fidler, Director for Local Transport from the Department for Transport.

Further reading:

  • The Committee took evidence on the impact of covid-19 on the bus sector and the priorities for reform in February 2021. Read the transcript.
  • The Health of the Bus Market: Read the 2019 Transport Committee report

Committee membership: 

Huw Merriman MP, Chair (Con, Bexhill and Battle)

Ben Bradshaw MP (Lab, Exeter)

Ruth Cadbury MP (Lab, Brentford and Isleworth)

Lilian Greenwood MP (Lab, Nottingham South)

Simon Jupp MP (Con, East Devon)

Robert Largan MP (Con, High Peak)

Chris Loder MP (Con, West Dorset)

Karl McCartney MP (Con, Lincoln)

Grahame Morris MP (Lab, Easington)

Gavin Newlands MP (SNP, Paisley and Renfrewshire North)

Greg Smith MP (Con, Buckingham)

You will receive our regular news digest – typically weekly. We are serious about GDPR and we promise to take care of your data and will never sell it or pass it on.

Your Privacy

We and our partners use technologies, such as cookies, and process personal data, such as IP addresses and cookie identifiers, to personalise ads and content based on your interests, measure the performance of ads and content, and derive insights about the audiences who saw ads and content. Click below to consent to the use of this technology and the processing of your personal data for these purposes. View our privacy policy.